NuGet Account Deletion Workflow

Karan Nandwani edited this page Feb 21, 2018 · 40 revisions

Status: Implemented

Issue

The work for this feature and the discussion around the spec is tracked here - Enable NuGet Account Deletion workflow #3204

Problem

Today there is no option for a user to delete their NuGet account. If we get a valid request to delete an account, we don’t have a workflow to do it.

Who is the customer?

Any person or entity which has registered and has a NuGet.org account.

Solution

User workflow

  1. Go to https://www.nuget.org/account/delete (URL subject to change). You are prompted to login, even if you already are.

  2. Form to submit the request

  1. Click submit and confirm

  1. Request submitted

  • This page will be displayed if you go to delete URL after the request has been submitted.
  1. You receive an email notification stating that we have received a request to delete your account.

  2. Account is deleted and the account page leads to a 404. All orphaned packages are unlisted.

  • The account can be deleted immediately if no child packages exist, or all child packages have co-owners (packages won't be orphaned when the account is deleted). Else the support team will reach out to the current owner for a recommendation for an alternate owner.

Packages with no owners

  1. The package is unlisted and NuGet.org displays a warning under owners.

  1. Contact Owners Page

Duplicate account username check

  1. Username of a deleted account will be reserved and new accounts with the same username cannot be created. Attempting to create a new account with the same username will display the same message we show today if there is an existing account with that username.
  2. When a deleted user tries to login will display the same message we show today for incorrect username and/or password.
Clone this wiki locally
You can’t perform that action at this time.
You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session. You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.
Press h to open a hovercard with more details.