Deleting a project
You can delete a project to permanently remove it.
- Navigate to your project.
- In the top-right, click to open the menu.
- In the menu, click Settings to access the project settings.
- At the bottom of the page, click Delete this project.

- Read the warnings, then type the name of your project into the text box.

- Click I understand the consequences, delete this project.
Closing a project
You can close a project to remove it from the list of projects but retain the contents and ability to re-open the project later.
- Navigate to your project.
- In the top-right, click to open the menu.
- In the menu, click Settings to access the project settings.
- At the bottom of the page, click Close this project.

Re-opening an organization project
You can reopen a previously closed project.
- In the top right corner of GitHub.com, click your profile photo, then click Your organizations.

- Click the name of your organization.

- Click the Projects tab.

- To show closed projects, click Closed.

- Click the project you want to reopen.
- In the top-right, click to open the menu.
- In the menu, to access the project settings, click Settings.
- At the bottom of the page, click Re-open project.

Re-opening a user project
You can reopen a previously closed project.
- In the top right corner of GitHub.com, click your profile photo, then click Your profile.

- Click the Projects tab.

- To show closed projects, click Closed.

- Click the project you want to reopen.
- In the top-right, click to open the menu.
- In the menu, to access the project settings, click Settings.
- At the bottom of the page, click Re-open project.
